Author Topic: Game won't run - why do I bother?  (Read 18930 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fredden68

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Game won't run - why do I bother?
« on: March 11, 2014, 01:38:11 AM »
Downloaded the game from Steam, enjoyed the first iteration many years ago. I get the "engine.dll missing" error message and get told to install DirectX (am running version 11.1 according to dxdiag).

Steam support is as useful as a chocolate teapot, can anyone here assist before I request a refund of my hard-earned money?

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 08:50:52 AM »
You have a corrupt copy of the game if the dll is missing.
Install DirectX 9.0c runtimes and that will go away. You can find it here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34429

mr2man

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2014, 09:46:49 AM »
I have exactly the same problem. Installed from steam on windows 8.1, running directx 11. Get "unable to load game library: engine.dll" as soon as I try to run. Engine.dll is present in the game's installation directory. Tried installing directx 9 from the link provided, but windows won't allow directx to be downgraded. Please advise or I will seek a refund through paypal.

Thanks for any help.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2014, 04:04:00 PM »
Sorry you are having issues. If the engine.dll is there it should see it and run. I have run the game on a windows 8 system with no problems.
In the root of where the game is installed there is a console.log file, please sent it to me to help resolve the issue. Should be in program files/steam/steam apps/common/mars

mr2man

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2014, 01:14:53 PM »
Hi - thanks for replying. Here's the console.log.

I'm getting a different error when I tried to run it today: can't start because X3Audio1_6.dll is missing. Then it follows with the engine.dll error.

//-------------------------- 3/2/2014 -- 15:18:58 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel (unknown), ~3.49 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   HT detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 8 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
SFXALProvider - OpenAL not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
   Pix version detected: 3.000000
   Vert version detected: 3.000000
   Maximum number of simultaneous samplers: 16
   Number of simultaneous render targets: 4
   Hardware occlusion query detected: Yes
WMIVideoInfo: DxDiag initialized
Initializing GFXCardProfiler (D3D9)
   o Chipset : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Card    : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Version : '9.18.0013.3221'
   - Scanning card capabilities...
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'autoMipMapLevel' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureWidth' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureHeight' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureSize' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'lerpDetailBlend' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'fourStageDetailBlend' to 1.
   - Loading card profiles...
profile 'profile/D3D9.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.91800133221.cs'
ShaderGen: Write permission unavailable, switching to virtualized memory storage
LOAD CORE MATERIALS CALLED
FIRST MATERIAL LOAD
LOAD COMM MATERIALS
LOAD DOOR MATERIALS
DOOR MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD BIO MATERIALS
LOAD FARM MATERIALS
FARM MATERIALS LOADED
ITEMS MATERIALS
DONE ITEMS MATERIALS
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS
FUEL STATION MAT
FUEL STATION MAT
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD MINE MATERIALS
MINE MATERIALS LOADED
PLANT MATERIALS
BUGGY MATERIALS
LOAD TERRAIN MATERIALS
 % - Initialized Core

--------- Initializing Directory: scripts ---------
sfxStartup...
SFXSystem::createDevice - created DirectSound device 'Primary Sound Driver'
SFXDSDevice::setDistanceModel - 'linear' distance attenuation not supported by DirectSound
   Provider: DirectSound
   Device: Primary Sound Driver
   Hardware: No
   Buffers: 16

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Server Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Client Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing Lighting Systems ---------
ACTIVATE LIGHTING SHADERS
Using Advanced Lighting


--------------
Attempting to set resolution to "1280 720 true 32 60 0"
Accepted Mode:
--Resolution : 1280 720
--Full Screen : Yes
--Bits Per Pixel : 32
--Refresh Rate : 60
--FSAA Level 0
--------------
** Loading GameDlg's **
** Done Loading GameDlg's **
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Engine initialized...
Window focus status changed: focus: 1
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, resetting device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::reset - depthstencil 5a98cc0 has 2 ref's
--- Resetting D3D Device ---
MAIN MENU AWAKE
OPEN GAME DATABASE
GAME CLIENT DATABASE OPEN 4464
TIME   0 d:  0 h:  0 m
KILL GAME DB
Exporting client prefs
Exporting server prefs main
CANCEL CLIENT SCHEDULES
MAIN MENU AWAKE
ON SERVER DESTROYED
SERVER SAYS CLEAR HAND
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2014, 04:51:22 PM »
The xaudio was part of the DX9.0c runtimes I can post that for download
FXmodex can be obtained from the internet seems other games have the same issue there
The MainMenu tried to open so the engine.dll looks like it is running then it just shuts down.
Does a windows dialog pop up and tell you the engine.dll is missing?
Have you tried to download the game from steam again?
Barring any other failures I will send you the game from my system.
Sorry for the trouble.


mr2man

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2014, 07:10:07 PM »
I downloaded the fmodex dlls and got rid of that problem but the missing engine.dll problem was still there.

So then I deleted the game and re-downloaded the game from Steam - now I don't get the engine.dll problem but nothing happens when I try to start the game. Mouse pointer is busy for a second then nothing.

Here's the console log again.

//-------------------------- 3/2/2014 -- 15:18:58 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel (unknown), ~3.49 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   HT detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 8 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
SFXALProvider - OpenAL not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
   Pix version detected: 3.000000
   Vert version detected: 3.000000
   Maximum number of simultaneous samplers: 16
   Number of simultaneous render targets: 4
   Hardware occlusion query detected: Yes
WMIVideoInfo: DxDiag initialized
Initializing GFXCardProfiler (D3D9)
   o Chipset : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Card    : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Version : '9.18.0013.3221'
   - Scanning card capabilities...
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'autoMipMapLevel' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureWidth' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureHeight' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureSize' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'lerpDetailBlend' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'fourStageDetailBlend' to 1.
   - Loading card profiles...
profile 'profile/D3D9.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.91800133221.cs'
ShaderGen: Write permission unavailable, switching to virtualized memory storage
LOAD CORE MATERIALS CALLED
FIRST MATERIAL LOAD
LOAD COMM MATERIALS
LOAD DOOR MATERIALS
DOOR MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD BIO MATERIALS
LOAD FARM MATERIALS
FARM MATERIALS LOADED
ITEMS MATERIALS
DONE ITEMS MATERIALS
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS
FUEL STATION MAT
FUEL STATION MAT
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD MINE MATERIALS
MINE MATERIALS LOADED
PLANT MATERIALS
BUGGY MATERIALS
LOAD TERRAIN MATERIALS
 % - Initialized Core

--------- Initializing Directory: scripts ---------
sfxStartup...
SFXSystem::createDevice - created DirectSound device 'Primary Sound Driver'
SFXDSDevice::setDistanceModel - 'linear' distance attenuation not supported by DirectSound
   Provider: DirectSound
   Device: Primary Sound Driver
   Hardware: No
   Buffers: 16

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Server Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Client Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing Lighting Systems ---------
ACTIVATE LIGHTING SHADERS
Using Advanced Lighting


--------------
Attempting to set resolution to "1280 720 true 32 60 0"
Accepted Mode:
--Resolution : 1280 720
--Full Screen : Yes
--Bits Per Pixel : 32
--Refresh Rate : 60
--FSAA Level 0
--------------
** Loading GameDlg's **
** Done Loading GameDlg's **
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Engine initialized...
Window focus status changed: focus: 1
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, resetting device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::reset - depthstencil 5a98cc0 has 2 ref's
--- Resetting D3D Device ---
MAIN MENU AWAKE
OPEN GAME DATABASE
GAME CLIENT DATABASE OPEN 4464
TIME   0 d:  0 h:  0 m
KILL GAME DB
Exporting client prefs
Exporting server prefs main
CANCEL CLIENT SCHEDULES
MAIN MENU AWAKE
ON SERVER DESTROYED
SERVER SAYS CLEAR HAND
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1


Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2014, 08:39:00 AM »
From the log file

MAIN MENU AWAKE
OPEN GAME DATABASE
GAME CLIENT DATABASE OPEN 4464
TIME   0 d:  0 h:  0 m
KILL GAME DB    <<<<< The only way this can happen is somehow the QUIT button pressed

Not sure what to say here but that text (KILL GAME DB) will not ever happen unless the quit button is actually pressed.

Are you slamming the mouse buttons as the game is trying to load?
There is alot of information that needs loaded from databases before the game launches.

mr2man

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2014, 12:39:12 PM »
I don't even see a quit button as the game does not start! Nothing happens except for the engine.dll error dialog.

I deleted the game in steam and made sure the main directory was gone, then I re-installed from scratch. I'm back to the missing engine.dll problem again. The console log is below. Note that if I put fmodex.dll in the main directory it makes no difference.

//-------------------------- 3/2/2014 -- 15:18:58 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel (unknown), ~3.49 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   HT detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 8 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
SFXALProvider - OpenAL not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
   Pix version detected: 3.000000
   Vert version detected: 3.000000
   Maximum number of simultaneous samplers: 16
   Number of simultaneous render targets: 4
   Hardware occlusion query detected: Yes
WMIVideoInfo: DxDiag initialized
Initializing GFXCardProfiler (D3D9)
   o Chipset : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Card    : 'GeForce GTX 760'
   o Version : '9.18.0013.3221'
   - Scanning card capabilities...
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'autoMipMapLevel' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureWidth' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureHeight' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureSize' to 16384.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'lerpDetailBlend' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'fourStageDetailBlend' to 1.
   - Loading card profiles...
profile 'profile/D3D9.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForceGTX760.GeForceGTX760.91800133221.cs'
ShaderGen: Write permission unavailable, switching to virtualized memory storage
LOAD CORE MATERIALS CALLED
FIRST MATERIAL LOAD
LOAD COMM MATERIALS
LOAD DOOR MATERIALS
DOOR MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD BIO MATERIALS
LOAD FARM MATERIALS
FARM MATERIALS LOADED
ITEMS MATERIALS
DONE ITEMS MATERIALS
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS
FUEL STATION MAT
FUEL STATION MAT
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD MINE MATERIALS
MINE MATERIALS LOADED
PLANT MATERIALS
BUGGY MATERIALS
LOAD TERRAIN MATERIALS
 % - Initialized Core

--------- Initializing Directory: scripts ---------
sfxStartup...
SFXSystem::createDevice - created DirectSound device 'Primary Sound Driver'
SFXDSDevice::setDistanceModel - 'linear' distance attenuation not supported by DirectSound
   Provider: DirectSound
   Device: Primary Sound Driver
   Hardware: No
   Buffers: 16

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Server Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Client Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing Lighting Systems ---------
ACTIVATE LIGHTING SHADERS
Using Advanced Lighting


--------------
Attempting to set resolution to "1280 720 true 32 60 0"
Accepted Mode:
--Resolution : 1280 720
--Full Screen : Yes
--Bits Per Pixel : 32
--Refresh Rate : 60
--FSAA Level 0
--------------
** Loading GameDlg's **
** Done Loading GameDlg's **
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Engine initialized...
Window focus status changed: focus: 1
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, resetting device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::reset - depthstencil 5a98cc0 has 2 ref's
--- Resetting D3D Device ---
MAIN MENU AWAKE
OPEN GAME DATABASE
GAME CLIENT DATABASE OPEN 4464
TIME   0 d:  0 h:  0 m
KILL GAME DB
Exporting client prefs
Exporting server prefs main
CANCEL CLIENT SCHEDULES
MAIN MENU AWAKE
ON SERVER DESTROYED
SERVER SAYS CLEAR HAND
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2014, 08:16:14 AM »
The log says the database is open and gives a reference id to it can only be done in the engine.dll
I am not sure of what the issue is. I will send you a link to a retail version to see if we get the same result.
There are over 2,000 customers running the game with no problems so help me figure out what is going on with your system...Sorry for the problems...

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2014, 08:39:49 AM »
I will run it at work on the 8.1 computer there if you like Hyper.    Message me the download link and I will install it and see if I can reproduce the error, and if I can, I will see if I can work out a fix.
 

mr2man

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2014, 10:48:15 AM »
I got it running using the link you gave me, but not until I copied X3DAudio1_6.dll and D3DX9_41.dll into the MarsChallenger directory. Thanks for your help and your attention to this problem! I like what I see of the game so far!

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2014, 09:43:54 PM »
Weird that should happen that way, search path is windows/system32 then the game directory
Ok Proffit I owe you a fresh copy anyhow, let me post a version for you.
Thanks

Dr. Layla

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2014, 01:44:01 AM »
Game also won't run for me. Started out with the pop up window error message  "Unable to load game library: Engine.fll. Please make sure it exists and the latest Direct X is installed".  I checked the Mars Colony Challenger folder and engine.fll was there. My laptop is Windows 8 with DirectX. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game, steam, and restarting the computer in various sequences.  Game won't open.

So I came to the forums looking for answers and found this thread. I ran dxdiag and confirmed that I have DirectX 11. I tried reinstalling DirectX. Then I no longer got the popup engine.fll mesage; instead, the screen flickered, seemed to change resolution, then went black for a couple of seconds, then returned to the desktop at original resolution. Again game won't open.

I also tried installing on my windows 7 desktop. Same initial error. I went back to my laptop, and tried copying the two files mentioned above into the Mars Colony Challenger folder. uninstalled and reinstalled again. Now when I try to run the game, a small white rectangle (~ 25 x 150 pixels) appears in the upper right corner, and the cursor disappears in an invisible rectangle occupying the upper right 2/3 of the screen. Still no game.

Despite the fact that I have never successfully opened the game, in Steam the counter for time I've been playing has been steadily increasing and now stands at 115 minutes. I'd really like to join my team already playing the game. Please help.

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2014, 03:24:06 AM »
the game requires directx 9.0c, yes you can install it concurrently with directx 11.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34429

on windows 64 bit I think there are a couple files you need to copy back to the game directory from the windows system 32 folder because they are hitting the 64 bit versions of the DLL's.  If you feel comfortable doing so, someone can look at your machine and see if we cant figure out what is going on via teamviewer, bare minimum that would be useful is the console.log file so we can see where it is halting at.   

There is something else I am forgetting from my beta testing days... cannot remember what it is...  Some way to bypass an interaction with the UAC on some machines.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 03:27:13 AM by profit004 »