Author Topic: Game won't run - why do I bother?  (Read 9763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Allan082

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2014, 08:48:24 AM »

There is something else I am forgetting from my beta testing days... cannot remember what it is...  Some way to bypass an interaction with the UAC on some machines.

Not sure if you refer to windows 7, but anyway you can turn off UAC on win 7 by going to control panel/ action centre, click on Change user account control settings then move the slider to never notify, which will stop you getting the UAC interaction. Hope this helps...

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 417
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2014, 12:19:11 PM »
No, I remember now that I reinstalled it.

Install it to another directory other than \program files (x86)\
The UAC only pesters programs in there.

Dr. Layla

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2014, 02:56:12 AM »
Profit 004, I will take you up on teamviewer or any other help you can offer. I'm stumped. the first time I tried loading directx 9 (at least I think it was directx 9) it seemed to load but didn't fix the problem. When I tried again using the link you provided, I got the following error: "You must be running Windows 98, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 2000, Windows XP or Windows Server 2003 family to install the DirectX 9.0". I already tried moving the files, though I may or may not have moved them correctly. Thanks for the prompt response! Fingers crossed.

//-------------------------- 3/28/2014 -- 02:44:06 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel Pentium III Xeon, ~2.19 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   MP detected [2 cores, 2 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
SFXALProvider - OpenAL not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: Intel(R) HD Graphics (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
   Pix version detected: 3.000000
   Vert version detected: 3.000000
   Maximum number of simultaneous samplers: 16
   Number of simultaneous render targets: 4
   Hardware occlusion query detected: Yes
WMIVideoInfo: DxDiag initialized
Initializing GFXCardProfiler (D3D9)
   o Chipset : 'INTEL'
   o Card    : 'Intel(R) HD Graphics'
   o Version : '9.17.0010.3347'
   - Scanning card capabilities...
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'autoMipMapLevel' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureWidth' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureHeight' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureSize' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'lerpDetailBlend' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'fourStageDetailBlend' to 1.
   - Loading card profiles...
profile 'profile/D3D9.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.INTEL.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.INTEL.IntelRHDGraphics.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.INTEL.IntelRHDGraphics.91700103347.cs'
ShaderGen: Write permission unavailable, switching to virtualized memory storage
LOAD CORE MATERIALS CALLED
FIRST MATERIAL LOAD
LOAD COMM MATERIALS
LOAD DOOR MATERIALS
DOOR MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD BIO MATERIALS
LOAD FARM MATERIALS
FARM MATERIALS LOADED
ITEMS MATERIALS
DONE ITEMS MATERIALS
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS
FUEL STATION MAT
FUEL STATION MAT
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD MINE MATERIALS
MINE MATERIALS LOADED
PLANT MATERIALS
BUGGY MATERIALS
LOAD TERRAIN MATERIALS
 % - Initialized Core

--------- Initializing Directory: scripts ---------
sfxStartup...
SFXSystem::createDevice - created DirectSound device 'Primary Sound Driver'
SFXDSDevice::setDistanceModel - 'linear' distance attenuation not supported by DirectSound
   Provider: DirectSound
   Device: Primary Sound Driver
   Hardware: No
   Buffers: 16

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Server Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger  : Client Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing Lighting Systems ---------
ACTIVATE LIGHTING SHADERS
Using Advanced Lighting


--------------
Attempting to set resolution to "1280 720 true 32 60 0"
Accepted Mode:
--Resolution : 1280 720
--Full Screen : Yes
--Bits Per Pixel : 32
--Refresh Rate : 60
--FSAA Level 0
--------------
** Loading GameDlg's **
** Done Loading GameDlg's **
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Engine initialized...
Window focus status changed: focus: 1
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device needs to be reset, waiting on device...
GFXPCD3D9Device::beginScene - Device lost and reset wait time exceeded, skipping reset (will retry later)

<NOTE: this part repeats a long time, deleted as it exceeds the limit for this post>

Dr. Layla

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2014, 03:11:02 AM »
Um, looking at my last post, I think I see the problem, but my brain is too tired to process, so I'm still humbly asking for anyone who wants to help to step in.

My system is 64-bit  :o

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 417
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2014, 06:12:23 PM »
Try this one -> http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
and friend me on facebook so we can find a time that both of us are online. -> https://www.facebook.com/mike.burkart
Also double check and make sure you have the latest drivers for your intel graphics card... (Not 100% sure it is supported but I think it is) -> https://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?lang=eng&ProductFamily=Graphics&ProductLine=Laptop+graphics+drivers&ProductProduct=2nd+Generation+Intel%C2%AE+Core%E2%84%A2+Processors+with+Intel%C2%AE+HD+Graphics+3000%2f2000



profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 417
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2014, 09:08:53 PM »
And a second somewhat success for the night =)

In the end it appears that the graphics chipset in this computer is kinda marginal and required the resolution to be turned down a bit in order for it to display.   For some reason it seemed to start fullscreen as well, not sure how to force it to windowed mode.
 

Dr. Layla

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #21 on: March 29, 2014, 12:29:36 PM »
A gas-giant-sized thank you to profit004 for helping me resolve the issue. I was able to play for 4 hours online with an awesome team last night. This is going to be highly addictive. In case you were wondering, we're not just geeks who enjoy a good simulation, we're all 4 of us also Mars One Round 2 applicants :D http://www.mars-one.com/

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2014, 09:03:40 AM »
Profit has always been a good source for info, thanks to him yet again.
You "martians" that post on the forum will get first crack at the new version.

TheCheesyOne

  • Specialist
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
  • Est. Test 6.17
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #23 on: July 05, 2016, 07:30:50 PM »
Hey guys, I know I'm a little late to the party, but this might be a little easier...

I had the same problem on my Windows 10 Asus laptop, and if you just go here --> https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=8109

I installed that and it worked perfectly, no additional actions needed :)
New name; still the same great product! I am TAD ;)

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Game won't run - why do I bother?
« Reply #24 on: July 13, 2016, 07:54:19 PM »
Thanks for the info. dx9 runtimes are required by lots of games and will still be that way till the last xp machine dies