Author Topic: DirectX error on startup. Exits asking for shader 1.1 on a shader 4.0 card.  (Read 12086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Hi there,

I bought MCC on Steam and have been unable to run it at all. Immediately on load an error pops up: 'Failed to initialize Direct3D! Make sure you have Directx 9 installed, and are running a graphics card that supports Pixel Shader 1.1.'

I've tried to get support on Steam and the recommendations of updating nVidia drivers, installing the DX redistriutable and removing and redownloading the game haven't helped.

My graphics card is a GeForce 9800 GTX+ which I believe more than meets the system requirements and the demo version of MCC ran fine before I purchased the full game. The OS is XP Pro.

Please help!

Regards,

BW.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
Post the console.log file . You can find it in the root directory of the install
thanks

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Hi,

As below.

Thanks,

BW.

Code: [Select]
//-------------------------- 3/21/2014 -- 19:52:02 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel Pentium III Xeon, ~3.40 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 4 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+ (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Failed to create hardware device, trying mixed device
   Failed to create mixed mode device, trying software device
 

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
can you run dxdiag and post that as well.  I have actually ran MCC on a 9800 card so I do know the card will take it.  Also you do not have any other full screen video apps running like a game in the background. (Although I have played MCC with games in the background as well, some games they cause fullscreen 3d apps to fail)
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 10:29:08 AM by profit004 »

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Hi Profit,

Thanks. DXDiag output as below.

No other notable processes running, bar antivirus (disabling it temporarily doesn't help, BTW). I only boot into Windows for games, so nothing fancy in the background.

Regards.

DXDiag.txt:- http://pastebin.com/afwPxK0k

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
It might be a corrupted file/dll etc have you tried to delete and re install?
There is no reason that system would fail to run the game and we have 2000 users so it does run..


profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
I am not seeing anything jumping out, I have a feeling it is something holding onto the the directx api after it should have let it go... if you would like to set up a team viewer session sometime so someone can look at your machine it may be useful if you would be willing.

I dont think it matters at all, but I did notice your resolution is set larger than your monitor is supposed to support according to dxdiag.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 12:36:23 PM by profit004 »

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
It might be a corrupted file/dll etc have you tried to delete and re install?
There is no reason that system would fail to run the game and we have 2000 users so it does run..

Hyper,

Yes, I've tried redownloading it twice (after removing a few cache files etc. at the Steam board's suggestion). Also tried running both the web-install and the offline version of DX9 and have updated the nVidia drivers. Same symptoms.

I do believe it should work, yes. Especially as the demo does!

Regards,

BW.

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
I am not seeing anything jumping out, I have a feeling it is something holding onto the the directx api after it should have let it go... if you would like to set up a team viewer session sometime so someone can look at your machine it may be useful if you would be willing.

I should be around this evening between about 2000 and 2200 GMT, if you'd like to give it a try.

I find the idea of something blocking DX unlikely though as firstly it does it after a fresh boot and secondly the demo runs!

Quote
I dont think it matters at all, but I did notice your resolution is set larger than your monitor is supposed to support according to dxdiag.

Blimey that is peculiar! It's definately a 1920x1080 panel. I might try running it from 1024x768 as test, though.

Thanks,

BW.

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
If you would like to friend me on facebook it would make communication easier I think. -> https://www.facebook.com/mike.burkart

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
If you would like to friend me on facebook it would make communication easier I think. -> https://www.facebook.com/mike.burkart

OK, done.

Incidentally, here are the console logs from the full version (first) and seconds later the demo (second). I don't think it's a direct3d locking problem.

Code: [Select]
//-------------------------- 3/28/2014 -- 22:42:02 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel Pentium III Xeon, ~3.40 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 4 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
Command line error: -window requires an argument
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+ (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Failed to create hardware device, trying mixed device
   Failed to create mixed mode device, trying software device

Code: [Select]
//-------------------------- 3/28/2014 -- 22:46:16 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel Pentium III Xeon, ~3.40 Ghz
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
   SSE2 detected
   MP detected [4 cores, 4 logical, 1 physical]
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXFMODProvider - Could not locate 'fmodex.dll' or 'fmodexp.dll' - FMOD  not available.
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
MAIN.CS BUILDING
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS
AUDIO CHANNEL DEFFS DONE
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Attempting to create GFX device: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+ (D3D9)
Device created, setting adapter and enumerating modes
Win32Window::setVideoMode - invoking curtain
   Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
   Pix version detected: 3.000000
   Vert version detected: 3.000000
   Maximum number of simultaneous samplers: 16
   Number of simultaneous render targets: 4
   Hardware occlusion query detected: Yes
WMIVideoInfo: DxDiag initialized
Initializing GFXCardProfiler (D3D9)
   o Chipset : 'GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+'
   o Card    : 'GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+'
   o Version : '6.14.0013.3528'
   - Scanning card capabilities...
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'autoMipMapLevel' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureWidth' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureHeight' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'maxTextureSize' to 8192.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'lerpDetailBlend' to 1.
GFXCardProfiler (D3D9) - Setting capability 'fourStageDetailBlend' to 1.
   - Loading card profiles...
profile 'profile/D3D9.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForce9800GTX9800GTX.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForce9800GTX9800GTX.GeForce9800GTX9800GTX.cs'
profile 'profile/D3D9.GeForce9800GTX9800GTX.GeForce9800GTX9800GTX.61400133528.cs'
ShaderGen: Write permission unavailable, switching to virtualized memory storage
LOAD CORE MATERIALS CALLED
FIRST MATERIAL LOAD
LOAD COMM MATERIALS
LOAD DOOR MATERIALS
DOOR MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD BIO MATERIALS
LOAD FARM MATERIALS
FARM MATERIALS LOADED
ITEMS MATERIALS
DONE ITEMS MATERIALS
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS
FUEL STATION MAT
FUEL STATION MAT
LIFE SUPPORT MATERIALS LOADED
LOAD MINE MATERIALS
MINE MATERIALS LOADED
PLANT MATERIALS
BUGGY MATERIALS
LOAD TERRAIN MATERIALS
 % - Initialized Core

--------- Initializing Directory: scripts ---------
sfxStartup...
SFXSystem::createDevice - created DirectSound device 'Primary Sound Driver'
SFXDSDevice::setDistanceModel - 'linear' distance attenuation not supported by DirectSound
   Provider: DirectSound
   Device: Primary Sound Driver
   Hardware: No
   Buffers: 16

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger Demo : Server Scripts ---------
MAIN.CS BUILDING

--------- Initializing HyperKat Games - Mars:Challenger Demo : Client Scripts ---------

--------- Initializing Lighting Systems ---------
ACTIVATE LIGHTING SHADERS
Using Advanced Lighting


--------------
Attempting to set resolution to "1920 1080 true 32 60 0"
Accepted Mode:
--Resolution : 1920 1080
--Full Screen : Yes
--Bits Per Pixel : 32
--Refresh Rate : 60
--FSAA Level 0
--------------
** Loading GameDlg's **
** Done Loading GameDlg's **
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Engine initialized...
Window focus status changed: focus: 1
MAIN MENU AWAKE
OPEN GAME DATABASE
GAME CLIENT DATABASE OPEN 4458
SQLiteObject Warning: Result set #2 was not cleared by script.  Clearing it now.
KILL GAME DB
Window focus status changed: focus: 0
  Using background sleep time: 200
Exporting client prefs
Exporting server prefs main
CANCEL CLIENT SCHEDULES
MAIN MENU AWAKE
ON SERVER DESTROYED
SERVER SAYS CLEAR HAND
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
GuiWindowCtrl::onWake - failed to create bitmap array from profile bitmap.
GuiControl::awaken: failed onWake for obj: (null)
MAIN MENU AWAKE
Cur. D3DDevice ref count=1
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 06:58:23 PM by badwolf »

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
That is very interesting.

<ponders>
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 07:01:20 PM by profit004 »

profit004

  • MCCS Test
  • Mission Commander
  • ******
  • Posts: 418
Well, after some tinkering, it is not the cleanest fix, or the one I am most happy with, but we have one more person with a working copy of MCC!

Good luck on mars badwolf!

badwolf

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Well, after some tinkering, it is not the cleanest fix, or the one I am most happy with, but we have one more person with a working copy of MCC!

Good luck on mars badwolf!

Many thanks for your time, profit.

Sadly have to report about three minutes after firing it up in full screen mode, massive texture corruption ensued and the graphics card locked up. Will persist and see if it were a one off, or if I'd borked the settings.

Cheers,

BW