Author Topic: Mars Colony Frontier  (Read 6127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1233

Schmidtrock

  • MCOTest
  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 06:30:25 PM »
Very nice, I enjoyed that!
Looking forward to the beta.

Crow

  • MCCS Test
  • Private
  • ******
  • Posts: 11
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2015, 10:57:54 AM »
Indeed nice vid. Planet dont look like mars tho

Termiasan

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2015, 01:34:37 PM »
"Exciting new Mars game currently in development. Due out June 2015"
Change date at http://hyperkat.com/marsfrontier.html for something more neutral - fall 2015 or better just 2015 to have release window.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2015, 04:47:49 PM »
Was supposed to be summer 2015, hard to keep track of all the blurb when I am knee deep in code.
Thanks for the input

rditto48801

  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 149
  • Wait, this isn't Duna.
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2015, 03:30:57 AM »
Ah, my favorite release date: "When it's done".
*evil eyes multiple Ubisoft products*

I watched 'trailer'. It looks good. Especially the less than slow driving in the rover.

Will the orientation of the farm modules (setup going East to West, or North to South) affect growing of plants at all due to how much sunlight they get?
Boldly going forward, 'cause I can't find reverse.

Doctor Watson; Proving that being wrong means being one step closer to being right.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2015, 08:54:12 AM »
We got greenlit on Steam so soon as we can get a viable version up ... do your evil eye thing on us as well.
Farm should not matter all that much. In reality on Mars we would have synthetic lights I would think. The sun light would be so weak there but I am sure it will make a difference. For the game not so much as some caveats have to be made to balance game vs sim.

rditto48801

  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 149
  • Wait, this isn't Duna.
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2015, 07:40:01 PM »
Evil eye you?
Having a piece of equipment stuck in a rover pales in comparison to fast traveling to a sailing ship that should be off shore and finding it is holding position a half mile above the water, partly 'nose down', like a dive bomber frozen at the start of a dive...(lots of amusing videos on YouTube about Assassins Creed series bugs...)

I kind of forgot about the weak sunlight thing. (solar energy over distance being an Inverse Square or whatever it is called, right? x2 distance = 1/4 energy.)
Boldly going forward, 'cause I can't find reverse.

Doctor Watson; Proving that being wrong means being one step closer to being right.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2015, 08:43:00 PM »
E = I/(r*r)   that is true

rditto48801

  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 149
  • Wait, this isn't Duna.
Re: Mars Colony Frontier
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2015, 06:41:38 AM »
I bought MC:F on Steam.
Where do I dump bug reports, and where are the logs hidden?
Or should I stick with  the Steam forum (and the stickied bug report thread there?)
I've run into near fatal issues (as in colonist almost dying because food/water and most EVA suit energy/O2 were gone after restarting after the 'm button crashes game'' issue), and even loosing the ability to use the rover after talking to the mining equipment NPC (clicked on rover when the message of needing to own a base first before buying mining stuff was still on screen.)
For now if you crash the game early on just reset it till we can resolve some of the issues

Edit:
Holy crap!
As if these map crashing issues I am seeing on the Steam forums (and have run into myself) were not enough...
My first base is basically broken off the bat.
Again game is in unknown state for now reset. Map crash should be gone or minimal by now

Claimed North East Base
Built Power module, N/S oriented, south of Hub. Toyed around, saw there was an 'upgrade' option by right clicking on stuff, but it didn't do anything.
I opened interior doors to the power module, but left them in place. Started up the RSG (65), started up Heater for 10. It reset to 0  when I turned it on. Changed it to 15 when on, then it stayed. That is the core operation till I get other things fixed. Been running this way months before release did you not log in and test with us?

Noticed both batteries showed zero for charge even with the Heater on (guessing not a bug, and likely a nice chance from the number bouncing all over the place in MC:C)
Batteries will be 0 if you use power with no generator on

Went back into hub, facing airlock.
Build mode again, placed Life Support, W/E oriented, west of hub.
I opened the interior doors to the Life Support module. Started pumps (47 each), started separator, started scrubber.
When back to hub, looked south, noticed the power module itself is just gone. The equipment is still there, and is apparently still functioning. Its power module side interior door could not be interacted with, it was labled as a pressure door despite being open.
The hub side door could be opened and closed. Again probably a result of the crash ... reset

Went to build mode.
On the build grid, the power module was no longer showed. There was a 'square' overlayed on the map, roughly 1.5 grid squares wide/high (3 half squares high/wide), extending 1/2 grid south and east of the square south of the hub.
Tried to save and quit and restart, but that did not fix the issue. Both doors closed after reloading and they were labeled as pressure doors, power equipment still present and apparently running.
Cannot build another power module.
Selected hub to see if anything was there or not, the game only counts the square south of the hub as occupied. I can actually place a hub to the sides of the square south of the hub, as if there is a phantom hub south of the starting hub where the north half of the power module was.

Reset the game

Edit 2:
Some in game screenshots.
http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/421441399981677339/2730BC36D571AB969AD53A688A46FFEB6A1264C9/

http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/421441399981679205/B10416AC46AFA711357C370263358EB03CC59FB6/

Edit 5:
Forgot a screenshot of the mucked up build grid. Note the 'square' below the airlock connected hub. The red hub is over the upper block of the missing power module. If I select an empty vertical oriented module, it is green if I put it the northern half over either square of the 'missing' power module.
http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/421441399986486815/A07895C987E4B3A805768624FB99A1D8DDB9913C/


Edit 3:
This is odd.
Did mission to repair heater part in the main base. After done, went to next to airlock, hit map button under minimap, game crashed.
After reload, I was next to the repair desk.
My water was dangerously low, my EVA suit was back on, and at half charge. So my position was the last time I had repaired a part at the desk. My food/water and EVA stats were at the point they were when I got back to the main base after my base was broken by the one issue.
I am baffled, to say the least.

Edit 4:
Something someone on the Steam forums pointed out that I totally forgot about.
http://hyperkat.com/scratchbox/index.php?topic=780.0
Is that thing still valid? (and did I basically miss out by buying MC:F on Steam? Not that it matters, $10 isn't bad)

Edit 6:
A few minor things.
The EVA breathing sound still being around when not wearing EVA gear.
A Missing Persons event seems to only have a rover pop up a fair distance from the base. Anything to be done with that mission? I wasted 80% of a tank of fuel and much of an in game day wandering around looking an actual missing NPC, looking over two paths between the base and stray rover, going on a line from base to rover to edge of map, and driving around at random in the area, but found nothing.
The Contract button seems to just give a flat 400 credits for plants, be they producing cheap or pricey veggies. And it seems to not do anything with the Auger.
The big light over the airlock seems to not do much of anything, at least night lighting wise. (power switch somewhere?)

Edit 7:
A few more minor issues I forgot about posting previously, or have encountered in the last few hours.
On reload, a porta-light in the back of the rover became 'disconnected' and hung in the air. (is the open rear of the rover because that one bug was not fixed from MC:C?). Luckily it was in the rear most position and wasn't stuck on anything. I was able to stand under it and look up to interact with it and pick it up and load it back into the rover.

Making NPK Fertilizer. Made a batch, item popped into inventory. With schematic still open, loaded the second batch of materials that were in inventory, build option remained greyed out. Closed dialog, loaded NPK Fertilizer into the tote I had, tried again. Materials still in place, build option available, Clicking on it, it said the right materials were needed, and nothing happened. Removed the materials, and all three basically vanished. Closed it, picked up the tote to grab another batch of materials from it, put it back down, loaded the materials up into the schematic, and it made NPK Fertilizer again with no trouble.

Cannot make Organic Fertilizer. The Help Info seems to be from MC:C, as it mentions waste containers and whatnot.
There seems to be waste from the Filters, and from the Plants, but not biological waste, which I am guessing is supposed to be from the toilet. Bio waste is fish

Iodine (which I bought for medicine making later) cannot be stored in mineral storage, and apparently is not in any ore type listed.

Built a second airlock. Is there anyway to add EVA Lockers to Hubs? Such as via upgrades?

Edit 8:
I had 100 credits 'vanish' at one point  when buying mining equipment, didn't think much of it at the time. Just now I saw a thing on the bug thread on the Steam Forum that someone is getting charged 100 credits just for talking to shop NPCs.


Edit 9:
NPK Fertilizer made at the fab table is worthless. It cannot be put into the fertilizer storage, and cannot be used in planters in the greenhouse. Using the invisible first option when right clicking on it just causes it to vanish.
My farm is about to be hindered by lack of fertilizer in general, as the shop at the main base had only 2 fertilizer last I checked.
Bug? Or is something supposed to be done with the NPK Fertilizer package before it can be used?
Edit 9B
After a quit and reload, missing NPK Fertilizer pack was back in inventory.


Stray ideas:
Beacon/Marker Light: A small solar powered blinking or dimply glowing red light. Help locate things like Augers or other things of interest at night.
Solar light: A dim solar powered light. Basically 'always on' during the night, but provides less light than the portable light.
Interior Doors: Converting interior doors from a lockable/manually opened state to an 'interior door' type state, so they can just be opened by clicking on them as with airlock doors are now.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2015, 08:02:17 AM by Hyper »
Boldly going forward, 'cause I can't find reverse.

Doctor Watson; Proving that being wrong means being one step closer to being right.