Author Topic: Release 0.37  (Read 1994 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
Release 0.37
« on: December 19, 2019, 03:59:05 PM »
POSTED
WARNING you must delete the old database files
c:/users/yourname/appdata/roaming/marsone  delete marsdata folder. The game will install a new set of datafiles.
You will have to start over, sorry.....


Charge EVA from rover now takes ox and meth from rover fuel
In keeping with the nature of a sim.. after the first mission, we learned how to protect travelers from radiation better so mission 2 you get a 5% better shield and mission 3 will be 10%.
This version will require a database change so I may have you just delete the old one and the game will install a new one or I can just overwrite the one affected. Will notify you on release.
Getting out of bed should no longer cause injury.
Zeus will spawn randomly on a reset with blackbox
Zeus will now allow pickup of black box and download to computer to expose what it found.
BlackBox will stay in the world for duration of game.
Augers can now be set off rover anywhere. Be careful not to set on other gear.
Augers will dump remaining material if set to 0 depth. Cheat here was load to 200 then take to base.
Ore Processor will now load and save proper quantity of minerals.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2019, 06:58:23 PM by Hyper »

spaceman20290

  • MCOTest
  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2019, 09:36:52 PM »
Game keeps closing down when I try to enter the mission and it begins loading. Text on the loading screen says loading mission file before it crashes.
Did you change the database files? Post the last few lines of log file. You may have to use Hyper to start get in game, log out to desktop then run the game and make a new character.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2019, 10:10:19 PM by Hyper »

spaceman20290

  • MCOTest
  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2019, 12:25:38 PM »
Here are the last few lines of the console, just as I was entering the mission.

Initializing platform...
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Done
SFXALProvider - OpenAL not available.
GFX Init:
   Direct 3D (version 9.x) device found
   Null device found

DebugDrawer Enabled!
Missing file: avatar.cs!
--------- Loading DIRS ---------
Missing file: levels/main.cs!
Error: Unable to find specified directory: levels
Missing file: scripts/main.cs!
Error: Unable to find specified directory: scripts
Missing file: tools/main.cs!
Error: Unable to find specified directory: tools

--------- Parsing Arguments ---------
Engine initialized...

As for the files to delete, I don't have an app data folder in that location. Everything I have is kept in my Mars One folder which I have in my downloads folder so I can get to it easier. I have been doing this since I started playing. With each new version, I delete the entire folder and my progress along with it then install and extract the new Mars One folder into my downloads folder.
If you will look in your users directory you will find marsone/marsdata that is the only place the code reads and writes
Everyone has a users directory if you run windows
In the log file look for this UPDATE COUNTER just below that is the database load/fail info

« Last Edit: December 23, 2019, 01:11:02 PM by Hyper »

spaceman20290

  • MCOTest
  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2019, 11:35:08 PM »
Got it working, sorry for all the trouble Hyper. For some reason the appdata folder was not showing up in my folder, I had to use the search bar to locate the marsdata folder. Anyways, I deleted the folder and got the game working.

Bugs:

1: Toilet does not work properly, when you press use the bar does not show any progress and if you press done it closes the menu and you can not reopen it because it says "you don't have enough fluids in your body,"

2 : Air scrubber does not seem to work right, it only will filer CO2 when you press the stir button.
It does filter but at times it will need a stir. If you remember the Apollo 13 mission (movie) they mentioned the stir. What happens is the pack that does the filtration saturates with co2 and when you stir it shakes off the bad stuff. It is not a major issue to have it there mostly I put it in for when you run out of power and it shuts down. Then you get in a panic situation with too much co2 in the cabin.

3: The plates and drink glasses have a strange texture like they are missing it or something. The space food plate is all brown.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2019, 07:43:05 AM by Hyper »

LostMartian

  • MCCS Test
  • Captain
  • ******
  • Posts: 78
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2019, 02:18:59 AM »
Quote
Got it working, sorry for all the trouble Hyper. For some reason the appdata folder was not showing up in my folder, I had to use the search bar to locate the marsdata folder. Anyways, I deleted the folder and got the game working.

The AppData folder is normally a hidden folder. If you can't see hidden files and folders, you're not going to be able see or open AppData. You can do an internet search to learn how to unhide hidden files and folders.

Its good to hear that you managed to find your way to your files despite this trouble.

LostMartian

  • MCCS Test
  • Captain
  • ******
  • Posts: 78
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2019, 02:59:40 AM »
I've completed phase one again.

Doing the first phase seems to take two to three hours. Two hours if you are lucky and know what your are doing. Three hours might be a good target to aim for if you were setting up a score.

I was able to find the Zeus rover. I didn't find it until I went out of my way to look for it. I found it at about x 530 and y 232. Are the location is currently randomized? I wasn't able to see it until I was on top of a tall hill. I was able to retrieve the data core and upload the data. The core vanished after I uploaded it.
Yes the location will be random but the box should not disappear.

I was able to find 8 resources via GPR in my last game. The game did not appear to count icewater twice (I had 2 water pumps setup); I needed core samples of 3 other drill sites before I was credited as having done the resource survey.

The water separator works better now, but there are some new bugs. When I tried divert 0.5 water to the tank while the separator had 0.15 units of water, the separator became -0.40 units of water. After dumping a full water can (5.00 units of water), the separator was filled to 5.00 units of water (like it had forgotten that it had -0.40 units of water).
Needs a zero trap, will add that

In another test, I was using divert 0.1 units of water, but got only 0.08 units moved over on the first tick. The second tick finished filling the tank, but left the separator with something like 3.83 units of water (I expected the separator to be some multiple of 0.05). Somehow I lost some water. I'll do this test again with the farm module once I play again later.

Is it possible to use the separator to only filter water for the tank? I don't think we can do that right now.
The filtered water is a by product of the separation process. There is not much necessity for huge volume of filtered water so I never thought much more on that. I do want to make the filtration part have more meaning cause the impurities in the ground water need to go somewhere.

Cleaning the separator filter doesn't seem to do much good right now. After cleaning it, it will return to 2.0 units of gunk after a few moments.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2019, 07:50:17 AM by Hyper »

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2019, 02:12:36 PM »
Not able to sit in the chairs above EVA room.   Sit down, then click the done and I fall through the floor to EVA room.   That is both chairs.  Beds seem to be fine do not fall through floor.

Fuel tank will not fill up as the Meth is full and Ox is not.  Sep keeps shutting down.   Can just stand there and click the power on, starts both OX and Meth go up by a few points then shuts down again.

Not able to find Rover.  Have done all of the highest hills looking nothing.

All other missions seem to work just fine.

Only 5 resources came up, 2 ice, 2 ore, 1 unknown.

Total time now is 3hr 10 mins.
edit:
Found Rover lol   nice hiding spot,  Mission #1 complete according to the lap top.   No notice of completion?   Have a message on lap top about Ox in hab low mission crid, cannot find the valve to send Ox to hab?

does the fuel tanks for both Ox and Meth have to be showing full.   As the Meth is showing full, Ox is about 4/5ths full?


« Last Edit: December 28, 2019, 05:22:40 PM by AC_Black »

LostMartian

  • MCCS Test
  • Captain
  • ******
  • Posts: 78
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2019, 08:46:09 PM »
Quote
Fuel tank will not fill up as the Meth is full and Ox is not.  Sep keeps shutting down.   Can just stand there and click the power on, starts both OX and Meth go up by a few points then shuts down again.

The separator doesn't have a methane tank. You must be thinking of another device, a sabatier. The rocket has one. You shouldn't need more than 300.00 oxygen and 112.50 methane to launch the rocket. Technically, you can launch the rocket with slightly less than that, but you'll have a negative value for oxygen starting in the next phase.

Quote
Only 5 resources came up, 2 ice, 2 ore, 1 unknown.

I don't know how you got that information. Do you not know how to do surveying? Did the rover computer provide that information after you uploaded the computer?

There is a process for doing surveying. You can take a surface sample by pressing 'g'. I recommend you take them 150 meters apart in a grid like fashion. Surface samples can tell you what resources are nearby. Take the surface samples to the LIBS and scan them.

The next step is take the GPR and use a charge near a location where the surface sample said resources where about 10.00 units or more. I wouldn't set the charge right next to them as it becomes difficult to tell the surface samples and GPR shots apart.

If you get any hits, you can use the core drill to dig a hole at the hit site and take a sample. Go dig a hole slightly deeper than the GPR hit says its depth is and take a sample. You will need to raise the drill afterwards to get the sample to move the drill to another site.

You can press F1 to bring up the help guide. Its slightly out of date, so you will need to improvise on some lessons.

Quote
Have a message on lap top about Ox in hab low mission crid, cannot find the valve to send Ox to hab?

You might need to stir the filters in the air scrubber. The air gets bad after a while.

The air filter should be taking the oxygen it needs from the separator automatically.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2019, 08:59:12 PM by LostMartian »

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2019, 11:51:46 PM »
Quote
Fuel tank will not fill up as the Meth is full and Ox is not.  Sep keeps shutting down.   Can just stand there and click the power on, starts both OX and Meth go up by a few points then shuts down again.

Quote
The separator doesn't have a methane tank. You must be thinking of another device, a sabatier. The rocket has one. You shouldn't need more than 300.00 oxygen and 112.50 methane to launch the rocket. Technically, you can launch the rocket with slightly less than that, but you'll have a negative value for oxygen starting in the next phase.

Hey LostMartian:  Thanks for the info.   You are right it is the ship fuel tank I am talking about, and the laptop says 400 units of Ox  112.50 meth.    BUT the Oxygen was over 350 and Meth was full at about 124.80.   Anyway I paused the game for a coffee came back and it had started the next mission page.   So cannot say what the story is lol.

Quote
Only 5 resources came up, 2 ice, 2 ore, 1 unknown.
   Did 4 gpr's around the base, about 100 m apart N,S,E,W from the base center.    Did not find the Rover until I had completed all but the Rover.   And I can confirm that the black box does disappear as soon as you download the info into Laptop.

I don't know how you got that information. Do you not know how to do surveying? Did the rover computer provide that information after you uploaded the computer?

There is a process for doing surveying. You can take a surface sample by pressing 'g'. I recommend you take them 150 meters apart in a grid like fashion. Surface samples can tell you what resources are nearby. Take the surface samples to the LIBS and scan them.

The next step is take the GPR and use a charge near a location where the surface sample said resources where about 10.00 units or more. I wouldn't set the charge right next to them as it becomes difficult to tell the surface samples and GPR shots apart.

If you get any hits, you can use the core drill to dig a hole at the hit site and take a sample. Go dig a hole slightly deeper than the GPR hit says its depth is and take a sample. You will need to raise the drill afterwards to get the sample to move the drill to another site.

You can press F1 to bring up the help guide. Its slightly out of date, so you will need to improvise on some lessons.

Quote
Have a message on lap top about Ox in hab low mission crid, cannot find the valve to send Ox to hab?

You might need to stir the filters in the air scrubber. The air gets bad after a while.

Did the stirs 10 times on everyone of the units I could, Info says to open valve on water separator to transfer Oxygen to hab.  what can I say.

Quote
The air filter should be taking the oxygen it needs from the separator automatically.

My guess is that the information on the lap top is not getting the right info lol..

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2019, 12:15:36 AM »
Mission #2 Farm

got started in Mission #2 Started Farm gen set to 60% power, turned on air and heat (temp set to 10 for farm hab), got water pumps working, then started to fuel Rocket.   Back to Farm Hab and upstairs to get seeds checking the soil was good.   There are no seeds in the seed cabinet upstairs. No fertilizer either.

No water container or fertilizer container?   Can use the water container from first mission, but still need fertilizer container. 

No resupply of food or meds?  (used 2 rads while looking for the Rover) :-[


LostMartian

  • MCCS Test
  • Captain
  • ******
  • Posts: 78
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2019, 02:25:36 AM »
Quote
No water container or fertilizer container?   Can use the water container from first mission, but still need fertilizer container. 

No resupply of food or meds?  (used 2 rads while looking for the Rover) :-[

Did you die or something? There is a bug where you will go to the next mission phase if you die. You don't get any supplies in the new module.

You should be starting with 12 seeds of every type, and 6 fertilizers of every type. Also the kitchen should have more food and medicine.

Unfortunately, the only fix I can think of is to reset the game and start over. Alternatively, you could play as the user Hyper (which is on phase 3).
« Last Edit: December 29, 2019, 02:31:15 AM by LostMartian »

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2019, 02:39:53 PM »
« Last Edit: December 29, 2019, 07:27:38 PM by AC_Black »

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2019, 02:43:46 PM »
Quote
No water container or fertilizer container?   Can use the water container from first mission, but still need fertilizer container. 

No resupply of food or meds?  (used 2 rads while looking for the Rover) :-[

Did you die or something? There is a bug where you will go to the next mission phase if you die. You don't get any supplies in the new module.

Have no idea, as I said I got up to get coffee took out trash and came back...

You should be starting with 12 seeds of every type, and 6 fertilizers of every type. Also the kitchen should have more food and medicine.

Nope nothing.

Unfortunately, the only fix I can think of is to reset the game and start over. Alternatively, you could play as the user Hyper (which is on phase 3).

Did a restart, so far everything is great got first CTD  log in dropbox link below

Hyper

  • Administrator
  • Mission Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2019, 03:12:08 PM »
Version 0.38 should address issues of making a new player, couple small glitches with it but it does create a fresh start.
Should have it out in a day or so...

AC_Black

  • Private
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Release 0.37
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2019, 04:13:05 PM »
Version 0.38 should address issues of making a new player, couple small glitches with it but it does create a fresh start.
Should have it out in a day or so...

Sounds good Hyper  but lets not forget Family at this time of year :)

0.38 is posted, been testing on windows 10 read the comments in that thread.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2019, 04:16:23 PM by Hyper »